Sunday, May 24, 2009

Fish Tank wins Prix du Jury at Cannes!!!

Congratulations to director Andrea Arnold!

more to come, Cannes announcements are being presented right now.

Here is the list of the Cannes winners. I'm very happy that Fish Tank earned a respectful win in this very competitive year. A Cannes fanatic at twitter has stated that the Jury prize is equivalent to a '3rd place' win. Um, since when did winning a bronze medal became insignificant?

Palme d'Or (Golden Palm):The White Ribbon directed by Michael Haneke
Grand Prize (Runner Up):Un Proph├Ęte (A Prophet) directed by Jacques Audiard
Special Jury Prize:Alain Resnais director of Wild Grass (Les Herbes Folles)
Best Director:Brillante Mendoza for Kinatay
Best Screenplay:Feng Mei for Lou Ye's Spring Fever
Jury Prize:Fish Tank directed by Andrea Arnold Thirst directed by Park Chan-wook
Camera d'Or (First-Time Filmmaker):Samson and Delilah directed by Warwick Thornton
Best Leading Actor:Christoph Waltz in Inglourious Basterds
Best Leading Actress:Charlotte Gainsbourg in Antichrist

No comments: